Saturday, September 27, 2014

Soy Sauce and Gluten

Hello everyone!

With more people being aware of gluten intolerance and Celiac disease, a popular question is if soy sauce is safe to eat.

Now, there are wheat-free alternatives in the form of tamari sauce, but you may not need to go that far and spend more money.

Soy sauce containing wheat may not be that bad for most people.  A study was done on various brands of soy sauce and 22 brands were tested for gluten content.  In the United States, a food can be called gluten free if the gluten content is under 20 parts per million.

The end results of the tests: 21 of the brands contained less than 20 ppm, one had 22.8 ppm.

 Soy Sauce: Safe to eat or poison in a bottle?

Of course, I am not telling people to go start using soy sauce like it's going out of style.  However, a small amount likely will not hurt you unless you are extremely sensitive to gluten. (I am not a doctor, or any such expert, mind you.) These gluten amounts are based on fermented soy sauces ONLY.  It's thought that the fermentation process breaks down the wheat and lowers the gluten content.

I personally do not get reactions when I eat Kikkoman soy sauce. Yes, it contains wheat, but it is also fermented.  Kikkoman also does make a wheat free version now, which for me is unnecessary I think.

Of course, if you want to be 100% sure then of course buy the gluten free version (often costs more).

Are you gluten sensitive/intolerant? How does soy sauce affect you?

No comments:

Post a Comment